Monday, 12 October 2009

Voices from Heaven

This is a beautiful anthology of sacred liturgical music. Chung coordinates his forces in larger choral pieces with power and vertical balance. Contributions by Cecilia Bartoli find the mezzo in top form, and Bryn Terfel brings charismatic presence to “Pie Jesu” from the Fauré Requiem. Also included are the interminable "Song for Athene" by John Taverner and a great performance by Andrea Bocelli in Eric Levi's hymn for the world, "I Believe".

The CD was released by Deutsche Grammophon, 1998, (DDD). Deutsche Grammophon 459720-2.

Soprano: Cecilia Bartoli
Tenor: Andrea Bocelli
Bass Baritone: Bryn Terfel

Coro e Orchestra dell'Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, Conductor: Myung-Whun Chung

Track List:
  1. I Believe - Andrea Bocelli (4'10")
  2. Ave Maria (Bach/Gounod) - Cecilia Bartoli (2'42")
  3. Va Pensiero Sull'ali Dorate (From Nabucco/Verdi) (4'51")
  4. Deus In Adjutorium (from Vespro della Beata (Monteverdi) (1'37")
  5. Qui Sedes Ad Dexteram Patris (from Bach/Mass BWV 232) - Cecilia Bartoli (5'05")
  6. Laudate Dominum (from Vesperae Solemnes De Confessore - Mozart) - Cecilia Bartoli
  7. Lacrimosa (from Requiem/Mozart) (3'41")
  8. Stimmt an die Seiten (from Die Schöpfung/Haydn) (1'49")
  9. Sanctus (from Mass D 950/Schubert) (3'18")
  10. Locus Iste (Bruckner) (3'44")
  11. Pie Jesu (from Requiem op.48/Fauré) - Cecilia Bartoli (3'42")
  12. Libera Me (from Requiem op.48/Fauré) - Bryn Terfel (4'47")
  13. Sanctus (from Requiem op.09/Duruflé) (2'37")
  14. Gloria In Excelsis (from Gloria/Poulenc) (2'49)
  15. Song for Athene (John Taverner) /7'36")
  16. I Believe (Instrumental) (4'10")