Tuesday, 13 January 2009

Anton Bruckner (1824-1896) - Requiem

This is Bruckner's early Requiem of 1849. It's one of my favourite requiem by a composer. The orchestration of his requiem is simple; it's not a perfect masterpiece. But when you listen to the music you will find so much grace, beautifulness and sadness in it.

The Compact Disc was released by Hyperion, 1987, (DDD). CDA66245.

Soprano: Joan Rodgers
Contralto: Catherine Denley
Tenor: Maldwyn Davies
Bass: Michael George

Corydon Singers, English Chamber Orchestra, Conductor: Matthew Best

Track List:
  1. Requiem Aeternam
  2. Dies Irae
  3. Domine Jesu Christe
  4. Hostias Et Preces
  5. Quam Olim Abrahae
  6. Sanctus
  7. Benedictus
  8. Agnus Dei
  9. Requiem Aeternam
  10. Cum Sanctus Tuis
  11. Psalm 114
  12. Psalm 112